Boschendal Wine Estate

The Best Of Wine Tourism & Ambassador Awards (BOWTA), created to celebrate the country’s most inviting and compelling wine tourism experiences, are now open for entry. With submissions judged by leading specialists in their fields, the awards serve both as an important industry endorsement and as a guide for the once-again growing cohort of domestic and international wine tourists to the winelands of the Cape.  

“This year will be the third year that the Best Of Wine Tourism Awards and Wine Tourism Ambassador Awards are combined, allowing us to tell a holistic wine tourism story. Partnering with the wine tourism industry and key stakeholders allows for the opportunity to jointly promote and position the destination as one of the leading wine regions. We are looking forward to receiving entries showcasing the authenticity, diversity, sustainability, and world-class product and services we have on offer,” commented Chief Destination Marketing Officer for Wesgro and BOWTA Ambassador, Monika Iuel.

Cape Town and the Cape Winelands was one of a handful of founding members of the Great Wine Capitals Global Network of Excellence in 1999 and has rejoined in 2020. The network has since grown to 12 leading global wine regions with the recent inclusion of Hawke’s Bay, New Zealand. That’s more than double the number at inception.  

Winners of the contest will be included in an annual global marketing campaign financed by Great Wine Capitals, which includes developed marketing assets, advertorials on industry-related media, social media exposure of the winners’ activities and joint marketing activations aimed at promoting the destination and winners.

The seven categories in Best Of Wine Tourism Awards, that comprise the local chapter of the international Great Wine Capitals Awards of Excellence, are Accommodation, Restaurants, Architecture & Landscape, Art & Culture, Wine Tourism Services, Innovative Wine Tourism Experience and Sustainable Wine Tourism Practice.


The Ambassador Awards encompass The Authentic South African Experience, Wine Tourism Diversity and the Conservation Pioneer Award.

All entries can be submitted online at  The fee for each entry is R700 + VAT, and the deadline for submissions is 21 July 2023.

Winners will be celebrated at an event in October. 

For more information on how to enter and judging criteria, visit  

Note to the editor:

Great Wine Capitals of Excellence: Current members (listed alphabetically):

  • Adelaide, Australia 
  • Bilbao Rioja, Spain 
  • Bordeaux, France 
  • Cape Town Cape Winelands, South Africa 
  • Hawkes Bay, New Zealand 
  • Lausanne, Switzerland 
  • Mainz Rheinhessen, Germany 
  • Mendoza, Argentina 
  • Porto, Portugal 
  • San Francisco Napa Valley, United States 
  • Valparaiso Casablanca Valley, Chile 
  • Verona , Italy